OVERVIEW: The Maine State Society of Washington, D.C. Foundation established a scholarship program in 1990 to recognize Maine students attending Maine colleges and universities, and has awarded more than $210,000 in scholarship funds to 180 students since 1991. Each scholarship is in the amount of at least $1,000 -- including several awards over $2,000 -- and is awarded to full-time students who have completed at least one year of undergraduate courses at a four-year degree granting, non-profit institution of higher learning in the State of Maine. 

In 2017, the Foundation granted eight awards worth a total of $11,000 to students from five different Maine colleges. Details here.

DONATE: To support the Foundation's efforts, you can mail donations to the address below or donate securely using PayPal. The Foundation is a volunteer-led 501 (c)(3), and your donation is tax-deductible. 

                              CURRENT SCHOLARSHIP DEADLINE: March 15, 2018.   

Applications are to be submitted via the online form, and all supporting materials are to be submitted via e-mail at mssfscholarship@gmail.com.

Access the current application here.

ELIGIBILITY: To be eligible for consideration, applicants must:

A. Have been born in or have been a legal resident of the State of Maine for at least four years; or have at least one parent who was born in or has been a legal resident of the State of Maine for at least four years. 

B. Not have reached his/her 25th birthday by June 30 of the application year.

C. Have completed at least one full academic year and be currently enrolled in a minimum of twelve semester hours -- or the equivalent in quarters/hours/courses -- as a baccalaureate degree candidate, according to the standards of the college/university.  The school must be a four-year degree granting, non-profit institution of higher learning in the State of Maine.

NOTE: No first-year college students are eligible for this scholarship, and the funds cannot be applied to graduate school work or community college work.

D. Submit a “student’s copy” transcript (furnished by the registrar) of all college/university grades in the semesters preceding the application date and showing a grade point average of not less than 3.2, or the equivalent thereof.

E. Submit a typed, double-spaced composition of up to 750 words in response to ONE of the two questions on the current year’s application form.

F. Submit a current resume, limited to 2 pages, including information on coursework, academic honors, awards/scholarships, leadership, work and volunteer experience.  

G. Submit the application via the online form, and submit the other required documents via e-mail to mssfscholarship@gmail.com no later than midnight ET March 15 of the application year. No extensions. 

H. Optional: Applicants may submit a sample of work (e.g., prose, poetry, articles, art) to give reviewers a deeper understanding of the applicant.

PROCESS: The Scholarship Committee shall be appointed by the Foundation’s Board of Directors and shall recommend the best candidate(s) based on merit. The number of scholarships awarded shall depend on the quality of the applications submitted and the total funds available. The name(s) of each awardee recommended by the Scholarship Committee will be submitted to the Foundation’s Board of Directors for approval.

The Foundation will notify each awardee in writing of his/her selection and the scholarship funds will be sent to that student for use in tuition payments or related school expenses or fees.   

If, after an award is made, a student is put on academic probation or fails to attend the institution during the subsequent semester, the student should attempt in good faith to return the scholarship funds to the Foundation.

Students are allowed to re-apply for the scholarship in subsequent years, but individuals are only eligible to receive one scholarship from this program.


What if I have a question?
Questions about the scholarship program can be directed to mssfscholarship@gmail.com.

How do I know if the committee has received my materials?
You will receive a confirmation of receipt within 24 hours of submitting your application. If not, please resubmit information and check your spam account.

What needs to be submitted to complete my application?
All applications must include a complete application form (online), resume (emailed to mssfscholarship@gmail.com), transcript (emailed to mssfscholarship@gmail.com) and essay (emailed to mssfscholarship@gmail.com). 

Note: All materials are to be scanned and sent as attachments -- no JPGs or GIFs. We suggest using a free scanning app such as CamScanner or TinyScan.


The Marjorie Pearson Memorial award will go to an outstanding female applicant with strong academic performance who also demonstrates superior volunteer leadership, as well as a passion for the State of Maine.   This award is worth $2,500.


2017:  Foundation Announces 8 Scholarship Winners

Foundation Announces 10 Scholarship Winners

2015: 2015 Scholarship Winners.

Click here for a list of winners since 1991.


Meet the Board
Marcie Cheney, President
Jessica Strelitz Stewart, Vice President
Philip Helgerson, Treasurer
Linda Grimm, Secretary
Katelynn Boynton, Fundraising
Jeff Hollingsworth
Sarah E. Conroy
Joan Reistetter (past president)

General Email: mainestatesocietyfoundation@gmail.com

Donation mailing address:
Mr. Philip A. Helgerson, Treasurer
The Maine State Society Scholarship Foundation
23510 F D R Blvd, Unit 308
California, MD 20619

Questions about scholarship committee or donations, please email: